Copy Cat!!!

I have no problem with trying to ‘copy’ someone else’s art or use someone else’s idea. That’s if it’s done with the intention of learning something. Art students through the ages have copied the Master’s painting in an attempt to learn their techniques. I have found that when I try to copy something I end up becoming inspired to produce something all together different from the piece I am copying. Plus I learn to develop my own techniques by trial and error, the best way!

Right now I am trying to figure out how the artist Cody Hooper made the textures on his painting “Shape Shifter”. Here’s a video he posted on youtube highlighting those textures.

I’m starting by collaging some paper with printed text onto a canvas. Next I’m going to paint some dark brown around the edges and glaze the rest of the surface with the same colour.

This is the ground for the painting.

This is the ground for the painting.

The edges have been painted and a dark glaze applied.

The edges have been painted and a dark glaze applied.

I watched a youtube video about crackling. I don’t live anywhere near an art supply store and I needed to learn how to get this effect without using crackle gel. I want there to both deep and not so deep crackles. I’m going to try the method I saw which involves painting on white glue then applying the paint. Instead of just paint I am mixing moulding paste with white paint and I’m going to trowel it on. I have no idea if this is going to work, that’s the beauty of experimentation, it could work beautifully, it could fail miserably, or, it could be different than desired but something very cool none the less!

I brushed white glue on random places, them troweller on white paint/modelling paste.

I brushed white glue on random places, them trowelled on white paint/modelling paste.

I added some texture into the wet surface by scratching and scraping. I left some places free to see the text below.

Here’s the crackling demo video.

I’m going to let my canvas dry over-night. I’ll be back tomorrow with the results.

~ by amyheggieart on October 9, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
